Academic All State 2020

Rugby Illinois is proud to recognize the academic achievements of the many student athletes that play youth rugby in Illinois.  The students recognized for the 2019-2020 school year form the inaugural class of the Rugby Illinois Academic Excellence program.

Despite the fact that the pandemic resulted in cancellation of the Spring 2020 competitive rugby season, the academic pursuits of these students continued. Full-time high school participating players qualified for academic year 2019/2020 recognition if they were active with a Rugby Illinois club in the Fall of 2019 or in full preparation for the Spring 2020 season.

Student athletes were recognized in the following categories:

Rugby Illinois Academic All-State with Honors – Cumulative GPA of 3.75

Rugby Illinois Academic All-State – Cumulative GPA of 3.5

Rugby Illinois Scholar – Cumulative GPA or 3.0

Rugby Illinois Honor Roll – GPA of 3.5 for the just completed school year, regardless of cumulative GPA

Just as we are all proud of our rugby athletes’ demonstration of skill and sportsmanship on the field of play, we are equally proud of their outstanding accomplishments in the classroom.  We are happy to recognize these individuals as the Rugby Illinois 2020 Academic “All-Stars.”  To all who are on this list, congratulations on this wonderful accomplishment and know that the effort you have put forth to achieve this will serve you well for years to come.

Paul Bergman, President

Rugby Illinois


Academic All-State with Honors

NameClubClass Year
Aaron StevensonMontini RFCSenior
Avery KemoraTaft EaglesSenior
Christian KrullWest Suburban BullsSenior
Daniel KowalczykArlington StallionsSenior
David McCulloughPlainfieldSenior
Devin HoovelMontini RFCSenior
Dylan JonesElmhurstSenior
Jack McGurkGlen Ellyn DucksSenior
Jacob SummersBrother RiceSenior
Mason ZaccardiFox Valley ChiefsSenior
Max HofflichElmhurstSenior
Natalia FloydSouth Suburban CobrasSenior
Rachel KaplanTaft EaglesSenior
Samantha MagsinoTaft EaglesSenior
Abbey FarmerCRC ValkyriesJunior
Aidan SchwaabElginJunior
Brody RothNew TrierJunior
Hugo ChalardChicago LionsJunior
Loren HenichTaft EaglesJunior
Mariah Norris-JohnsonSycamore SpartansJunior
Matteo BerengerArlington StallionsJunior
Peter RancheroGlen Ellyn DucksJunior
Zayn BegNeuqua Valley WildcatsJunior
Christopher J Cetnar Jr.Fox Valley ChiefsSophomore
Julia MurrayLane Tech/Illinois TornadoesSophomore
Leo CavalierNew Trier Rugby ClubSophomore
Mary MillerHononegah Community High SchoolSophomore
Mason SternNew TrierSophomore
Nathaniel BrazenFox Valley ChiefsSophomore
Rachel LechtenbergFox Valley ChiefsSophomore
Greg VeselyArlington StallionsFreshman
Josephine O’DonnellTaft EaglesFreshman
Justin PuetzArlington StallionsFreshman
Olivia MurphySouth Suburban CobrasFreshman
Rachel HammelmanFox Valley ChiefsFreshman
Sophia BradelNorthern IllinoisFreshman

Academic All-State

NameClubClass Year
Devin Wolf RogersMorton High SchoolSenior
Logan M. FloresTaft EaglesJunior
Charles McElyeaFox Valley ChiefsSophomore
Liam CashinWest Suburban BullsSophomore
Aaron RiceNeuqua Valley RugbyFreshman
Gavin MyallWest Suburban BullsFreshman
Hugo HourihaneNew TrierFreshman
Joseph PopeGlen Ellyn DucksFreshman
McCormick DevereuxNew TrierFreshman

Rugby Illinois Scholar

NameClubClass Year
Matt SnellNew Trier Rugby Football ClubSenior
Ryan O’ConnellSt Rita MustangsSenior
Paige PollittChillicothe CailíníJunior
Daniella (Dani) ZarkinFox Valley ChiefsSophomore
Imanii HernandezTornadosSophomore
Carter HuntBrother RiceFreshman